My posts have been very intermittent the past few months—just not feeling the inspiration, I think. Consulting and traveling have been occupying my time. I was watching last night’s Charlie Rose program and a few ideas arose in his discussions that caught my interest.

Harold Evans

Rose’s first interview was with Sir Harold Evans (former editor of “The Sunday Times” and the “Times of London,” former president/publisher of Random House, and Tina Brown’s husband). In these roles he has witnessed firsthand the evolution of 20th century journalism.

He has a new book out, My Paper Chase: True Stories of Vanished Times, that sounds as if it’s worth reading. What caught my ear (I was multi-tasking and only listening) was when Charlie asked Evans about people he admired. Bill Clinton politically, he responded. Charlie asked if it was because of his “gifts” and Evans replied,  “yes, though he’s squandered some of them.”

It’s a thought-provoking concept, squandering one’s gifts. To lose (as an advantage or opportunity) through negligence or inaction is the applicable definition of the word, squander. What are the gifts that you and I possess that we squander? Worth a ponder, perhaps.

Rebecca Miller

The second interview of the program was with Rebecca Miller (writer/director) and Robin Wright (actor) about the film, The Private Lives of Pippa Lee. Wright described it as a melodic, intense but happy movie. Miller said the book and subsequent screenplay were inspired by an acquaintance she met many years after she had known her originally and this woman’s transformation from wild

Robin Wright

youth to sedate mother. She was intrigued by the selves inside each of us, nestled within one another like a Matryoshka doll. I often hear people remark when they look back, “it’s like a different life, I was a different person.” Who are the selves nested within you and me and who will be the next “doll” that contains who we are now?

I just returned from spending one week with my daughter and her family. She has two sons (ages one and three) and a new daughter. Yes, I’m still sane but also suffering from cuteness withdrawal and sighing with relief that I, unlike my daughter, am able to sleep through the night. I have been reflecting on my own children as infants and toddlers now grown and so far, far away.  After returning from a visit, I often contemplate my relationship with my daughter and my mother throughout the years. Now I wonder how this new little female in our lives will evolve and experience her mother. Sometimes the pendulum swings!

PS. Looking at the previous post and this one, I think it must be the season for introspection for me.

