75d1

77d8

This week two of the blogs I follow feature junk. At Art Propelled, South African artist Robyn Gordon features the art of Leonardo Drew (shown in the two photos above) from Brooklyn, New York. It’s definitely worth a visit to his site to look at his work. He’s probably the king of the junk collectors, and it makes for fascinating creations.  And at artist Leslie Avon Miller’s blog, Textures, Shapes and Colors, she reminisces about her mom’s junk drawer. What’s in your junk drawer and what does it say about you?

DSCF2385Handsome Hunk and I are longtime junkies, picking up rusted metal shapes and other detritus that we find pleasing in some way as we walk the city or along the railroad tracks. I once flagged down the street cleaner and asked where I could get one of his big round street cleaning brushes made of thin metal strips. He said, “Just tell me where you want them and how many and I’ll bring them by.” So I did and he did. I don’t have enough room to be greedy, so I only asked for 2 of the 4 quarters that make up a big round brush. They’re lurking under other junk in a closet somewhere, I’m sure.

Several years ago, my husband erected little found object sculptures along the railroad track. One I especially liked was a triangular piece of wood he stuck in the ground topped with a pink high heel. I always wondered how a pink high heel ended up along the railroad track where we found it. A few weeks ago a neighbor remembered these little sculptures and it was fun to tell him it was my husband who created them.

Off and on I’ve used found objects in my encaustic art (a few examples below). I find it intriguing to see who’s attracted to “junk” art.  Are you a junkie?

DSCF2386

DSCF2387

DSCF2379

