I’ve felt productive these past few weeks, and it feels wonderful. My productivity has been in accomplishing some of the things I’ve always wanted to do such as focus on my creativity, but it doesn’t preclude contemplating my navel. I’ve always valued my down time when nothing is planned or expected of me. But now, even my down time seems ultimately more productive and satisfying. Maybe the guilt I’ve experienced from procrastination and dreams unrealized has moved on to greener pastures.

I feel that I am discovering, tapping into thoughts and feelings, unraveling and expressing. The voyage metaphor seems apt. A journey with an uncertain destination, yet the anticipation of the unexpected. Right now, I’m contemplating whether or not my latest encaustic is actually completed. I wish I had an expansive studio to hang my pieces on a large blank wall and encounter them unexpectedly as I walk into the room or turn around. It would help to see a painting with more detachment.

Encaustic Painting, 36"x24"

Encaustic Painting, 36"x24"

And, I’ve also been doing a free Deepening Creativity e-course designed by Shelley Klammer, Intuitive Artist. It involves taking 10 minutes each morning to create a spontaneous collage by selecting imagery in magazines that may feel vivid and exciting or that evoke an emotion. Shelley uses phrases on her Web site that appeal to me such as “Trust Invites Intuition,” “Visionary Creativity Can Be Accessed in Small Daily Ways,” and “There is Great Creativity Beneath Our Everyday Thinking.” To create a collage, she recommends that you suspend thinking to learn how to create effortlessly without planning. I look forward to this exercise each morning, it’s been more enjoyable for me than the daily writing recommended in The Artist’s Way that I tried years ago. Here are the six collages I’ve created so far:

I love color. I love flowers. I am torn between city life and rural life. I want a garden.

I love color. I love flowers. I am torn between city life and rural life. I want a garden.

Most of the magazines that I keep around relate to decorating. My art magazines, I rip out pictures and discard the magazine or put on the shelf by the mailbox downstairs for others to enjoy. I love food.

Most of the magazines that I keep around relate to decorating. My art magazines, I rip out pictures and discard the magazine or put on the shelf by the mailbox downstairs for others to enjoy. I love food.

I think I was feeling a bit blue and trapped this day.

I think I was feeling a bit blue and trapped this day.

I love to swim. The water seems so enveloping and soothing. The pool and surroundings remind me of a spot in the Luxembourg Gardens in Paris where I chatted with a friend from South Africa I hadn't seen for 30 years.

I love to swim. The water seems so enveloping and soothing. The pool and surroundings remind me of a spot in the Luxembourg Gardens in Paris where I chatted with a friend from South Africa I hadn't seen for 30 years.

Since I am between jobs, my future is uncertain.

Since I am between jobs, my future is uncertain.

Love the colors and sensual shape of the lamp base. Shoes to die for.

Love the colors and sensual shape of the lamp base. Shoes to die for.

What are you contemplating at this point in your life, your career, your relationship, your art? Inquiring minds want to know.

