Photographer Albert Ellenich taking a pic of me taking a pic of him at the opening reception of his gallery showing.

Photographer Albert Ellenich taking a pic of me taking a pic of him at the opening reception of his gallery showing.

Summer is prime time for date nights with my husband. I’m very much a warm weather person and it seems to me that at this time of year romance is always in the air. It’s hard for me to imagine a better partner than handsome hunk: we enjoy spending time together, share similar interests and have always been very drawn to one another. Last night I decided to wear my fashion-du-jour maxi-dress, and we headed out to a gallery reception featuring floral, nature and landscape photographs taken by our talented friend, Albert Ellenich. I’m a fan of his tight shots of lush flowers and plants. His photo subjects are wide-ranging, so you might want to take a moment to visit his online gallery.

Albert and Kenn in front of some of Albert's photos

Our friends Albert and Kenn in front of some of Albert's photos

Date night stop two was Taste of Randolph Street. By this time we were hungry and decided to stop at an Indian restaurant and eat outside so we could watch the steady stream of people heading to the Taste. Randolph Street’s claim to fame is Harpo Studio where Oprah tapes her show and it’s also a lively area of popular restaurants. The street was a sea of people, mostly younger than we are. As we savored the pungent Indian food and talked, groups of young women passed by our table. I could imagine all the preparatory primping that had taken place. Which dress? The red sandals or the gold heels? Hair up or hair down…? The guys came en masse too in their khaki shorts and t-shirts trying to be cool in a disinterested way. The thirty-somethings look so young now! Yes, there were couples too, but my husband remarked that he thinks that young people today don’t date but instead meet up as a group, hangout and maybe pair off as the evening grows later. Not that we know this for sure, but our youngest son (late 20s) tried to explain this to us at some point.

The delicious aromas at the Taste of Randolph Street filled the warm summer night.

The delicious aromas at the Taste of Randolph Street filled the warm summer night.

We walked home after meandering through the different stalls and listening to one of the bands that played at the Taste. Lots of people out and about on the streets enjoying the warm night. I’m in love with summer. I’m in love with handsome hunk. And I feel content and so happy not to be young again and looking for “the one.”

Maybe the sun on Saturday was an aberration was my first thought when I woke up today. The temperatures were in the 80s, but it stayed cloudy, hazy, yet bright all day long. It made me take notice of the plants on the balcony. They’ve flourished from all the rain we ‘ve had lately and the colors popped against the gray sky. Our balcony faces north so the types of plants we can grow is limited. I’m sure my friend Lisa at Pot and Box could give me some pointers. To wrap up the weekend, here are some photos of the plants in our little balcony garden in the city.

DSCF1601 DSCF1602

DSCF1604DSCF1606

