I think it’s time to go outside for a long walk, maybe it will help me get some perspective and locate my mojo. It hasn’t bothered me too much that it’s been a rainy week here in Chicago because I’ve been busy. Among other things, I’ve been working on an encaustic painting and I started sewing one of the dresses I bought fabric for.

Today I got the dress to the point where I could try it on and I have to say, I just don’t like it. Maybe it’s my body shape I’m not feeling too friendly toward right now, but I think I’ll put the dress aside and take a fresh look in a few weeks. And I’ve worked on the encaustic painting to the point that I don’t know how I feel about it, truthfully. Remember I was going to write a goal for each painting per Twyla Tharp’s suggestion? For this painting I wrote down, “keep it simple.” Yet, I found myself getting ever more intricate with it. I tried to tame the complexity and busyness with more structure —adding some order to the “chaos” beneath.

It’s often difficult for me to have perspective on my paintings. I think it’s time to put this one aside, like my dress, and take another look at it in a few days or weeks. Right now I’m on the brink of feeling discouraged. Maybe I just need a change of venue, so I’ll head outdoors for a walk between the rain showers. To quote Scarlett O’Hara, “After all, tomorrow is another day.”

Here’s the encaustic painting with found objects (24″x24″) that I worked on this week :DSCF1582

DSCF1582

And here are some other examples of my encaustic paintings:

DSCF1578

DSCF1580

DSCF1579

