I’ve been enjoying a wonderful interlude with my daughter and her family and now it’s time to get back to everyday life. I have a few posts in mind and will get to those in the next few days. But, I do want to share a new discovery—GoodGuide.com. I think it’s a site that can benefit those of us who are in a quandary about which products are the best for our health AND for our environment.

The site has received some press recently, including an article in yesterday’s New York Times. GoodGuide.com offers individual product ratings in an array of product categories (toys, food, etc.) and helps you make choices that match your values and concerns by using filters to customize the product information.

For instance, lately I’m concerned about sunscreen products. I wonder whether the chemicals are worse than the effects of the sun. I searched and found that for over SPF 15, Burt’s Bee’s tops the list of all the products with an 8.2 (out of a possible 10) rating for Health Performance, 7.7 Environmental Performance and an 8.5 Social Performance. There’s a lot of supporting information. You also can send the manufacturing company a message, share the information, write a review and add to a favorites or avoid list.

I plan to spend some time on this site creating my favorites list, as well as subscribing to their blog. I’d also be interested in your comments about GoodGuide.com.

