sc00072fd4

May is a wonderful month for me. Mothers’ Day and my birthday are very close to each other, some years they even fall on the same day. Mothers’ & Daughters’ Day is a tradition started by my grandmother, and carried on by my Mom and now me (all of us are pictured above). It’s with longing and love that I remember my Dutch Grandmother, Anna, and my Grandmother, Nettie, who always brought me a bouquet of lilacs and tulips from her garden to celebrate my May birthday.

My sweet daughter is now a Mom of two boys and perhaps someday a little girl who also might carry on this tradition. I think that it’s only when we, ourselves, become Mothers, that we truly begin to appreciate and understand our own Mother.

Kisses, hugs, tulips and lilacs to my fabulous Mother and beautiful Daughter!

