My daughter and family are visiting soon. In response to an email that I sent my Mom about preparing for the visit, I got this one in return. I thought you might find it amusing too!

Email from Mom:
“When you used the expression that you ‘weren’t going crazy’ getting ready, it reminded me of an expression your Dad uses sometimes…”Don’t get your tit in a wringer.” Just so you understand this – my mother had a washing machine that had a wringer attached. After washing, she ran each item through the wringer into rinse water in a 2-sink tub, and then put them through the wringer again to press the rinse water out. And, get this, she then climbed the basement stairs with a basket full of wet clothes, hung each one on a clothesline, and later took them off the clothesline. And then ironed most of them. She did this 2x a week. I can remember scrubbing my brothers’ dirty socks on a scrub board. My my, how times have changed.”

In fact, I do remember the days of wringer machines and mangle irons at my grandmothers’ houses -I think even my Mom had one when I was little (I remember her story about washing diapers using a wringer washer). Keeping a house running efficiently back then was truly a daily cardio and weight workout. Now we pay trainers and athletic club fees to stay fit.

