Two days of sunshine, warmer temps and Artropolis at the Merchandise Mart in Chicago add up to a sensational weekend. Artropolis is really a tripartite event: Art in Chicago, NEXT (emerging artists) and International Antiques Fair. We tried to pace ourselves over two days to be able to appreciate what we were seeing; it’s easy to get sensory overload. I was surprised to see a lot of people taking pictures of the art since I wasn’t sure the gallery owners would appreciate it. They didn’t seem to mind so I grabbed a few shots too.

dscf1325

I loved the colors in these paintings:

dscf1306

A small display from our local Redmoon Theater:

dscf1326

Art that makes you smile:

dscf1308

People watching is fun too. Cellphones can’t live with them, can’t live without them (though we try to):

dscf1316

dscf1327

These ladies were fascinated by this construction that had lots of doors and intricate details:

dscf1319

dscf1300

dscf1320

dscf1322

Art with bling:

dscf1323

Hmmm. Those thighs look familiar:

dscf1324

I apologize for not being able to name the art/artist. I was trying to be as unobtrusive as possible about taking these photos. While we were walking around, my husband made an uncharacteristically sexist remark to the effect that all the guys would probably get lucky (okay, so he used another “L” word) that night because they had come with their wives/girlfriends to the art show. Maybe it was just a hint, since I know he enjoys these shows too.

