dscf1278

This is a follow-up to an article I wrote a few weeks back, Inspired by: A Notion to Sew. I mentioned that I was itching to sew, and I’ve moved into action on this by selecting patterns and fabric. Each of the patterns in the above photo sits on the fabric for that dress. I think some accessories such as brightly colored belts could add a lot to the overall look of the dresses. Maybe some different colored straps for the blue dress. The plaid fabric has some stretch to it, and the blue fabric is a soft rayon, so I’m not sure if I should line it. I’ll have to do some research on that.

In the previous article I complained that it is tough to find inspiring fabrics, which I again found to be true. It takes some dedicated combing through bolts of fabrics at some of the stores here in Chicago. However, I did discover another fabric store, The Needle Shop, which is located nearby. You also can purchase fabrics from them online via Etsy. I haven’t had a chance to drop by their shop yet, but the fabrics look fun and contemporary. And, for sewing tips and inspiration, visit Sew Fashionable.

My daughter and family are visiting in May, so I’ll likely tackle these projects the end of May. I’ll unveil the finished products when I’m done. I hope they turn out the way I imagine they could. If you sew, I’d love to hear about your projects…pictures welcome.

