My Mom is a writer at heart I’ve discovered. Today she shared with me her vivid remembrance of that tragic day now ten years past. She says, “At that time we were in a condo in Florida. Your Dad was playing golf, and I was watching TV when the program was interrupted with the news of the shooting at Columbine High School.” Later with this horrible massacre on her mind, my Mom wrote the following:

And the snow fell
that night
covering the town of Littleton, Colorado
with a blanket of snow

It was as though
God could not look upon
the scene below

Where hours before
two deeply disturbed teens
carried out a plan
conceived earlier in their troubled minds

In maniacal fashion
they slaughtered a teacher
and twelve of their peers
leaving behind a scene
too horrible for eyes to behold

